L’Ogre


When friends travel to Paris, they always ask about the hot spots, the trendy places, and where they can get a nice traditional French meal. Recommending good restaurants was always a hassle because French food is so diverse that there isn’t really a place that epitomizes everything the country has to offer.

If you like duck, the South West region is your best bet. If you’re in the mood for cheese, fondues, raclettes, head to the Alps. Maybe you’re after something more universal, like a “steak-frite” that’s served in most bistrots. Don’t get me started on the fish. If you’ve never tried a Sole Meunière, you’ve missed out on one of the best fish recipes ever! But what I really love about France is the traditional side to cuisine.

No nutritionist in their right mind would recommend our diet, yet it works perfectly for us. So when I recommend a restaurant, that’s what I want my friends to find; a place that puts out food as good as my mother’s, and she’s a terrific cook.

L’Ogre is that restaurant. It was opened over a year ago by Nicolas Bérengier, Maxime Bauche, and Henry Bauche after holding a wine boutique for years. The wine selection is great, with many wines you won’t find in many establishments, as they know a lot of vineyard owners who produce savory wines in low volumes. If you’re ever there, ask for the wine “L’Insoummis du village”. L’Ogre also features a great humidor where you needn’t go outside to have a cigarette. I kicked the habit years ago, but understand that it’s a hassle for smokers who need to freeze in the rain for a quick reprieve.

The price is very affordable, with most dishes around 16/20 Euros, all the while delivering outstanding quality.

I’m not in Paris half as much as I’d like to be, but whenever I need to meet up with friends, it’s my favorite place to go, and I hope it will be yours too.

Bon appétit!

L’Ogre

1, Avenue de Versailles, Paris, 75016

One thought on “L’Ogre

Leave a Reply

